Mighty Mouse

20Apr12

Logitech Trackball(Click to for large version)

My mouse, the Logitech Trackman Marble. I’ve had this device for two years now and it has vastly improved my pointing device UX. It stays completely out of the way, no pick-up-and-shift-pick-up-and-shift clack-clack-clack, no distracting red laser. Just silent efficiency. I love it. Picture taken with my Nokia N900 using Solarize effect (installed BlessN900).

3 Responses to “Mighty Mouse”

  1. I too like using trackball mice, specifically the Logitech Cordless Optical TrackMan mouse. This mouse is set up such that you use your fingers instead of your thumb to do the mousing, which may equate to less chance of generating a repetitive stress injury.

    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/mice-pointers/trackballs/devices/cordless-trackMan-optical

    After experiencing repetitive stress injuries from too much mouse usage, the assistive technology folks at the university where I work recommended this mouse to me. Its large dome shape puts your had in a more ergonomically correct position, and it’s really comfortable to use the. The mouse also has a right-click button, as well as a scroll wheel, left-click button, and two programmable buttons (although I’ve never programmed them do do anything on my Linux box).

    This mouse is also very precise, and I have really come to appreciate it when I am doing intensive graphics work where I need to guide my mouse with pixel-point-precision.

    Best of luck to you!

    • I tried using my fingers on the trackball, but it turned out I am much more comfortable using my thumb, and so I decided to go with the Logitech Trackman Marble. And you’re so right, these things are incredibly precise. :-)

  2. 3 catharcyst

    track ball is real good. no moving. less stress even :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

