Changing font size and font family of Terminator

25Dec10

As  you might have noticed from my previous post A shorter prompt I have customized both the font size and font family of my Terminator. A great deal of my activities take place in the terminal and I need my fonts to be comfortably visible and pleasing to my eyes.

One of the first things I always do on a fresh system is install a bunch of fonts. For Terminator I use a monospace font called Inconsolata, my favourite terminal font. On Debian and Debian based distros, installation of Inconsolata is as easy as

$ sudo aptitude install ttf-inconsolata

After you’ve installed this font, open Terminator’s config file. I run CrunchBang Linux 10 (Statler) with Openbox as window manager. So my Terminator configuration file would be found at ~/.config/terminator/config.

Look for this line:

font = Monospace 9

and replace it with:

font = Inconsolata 14

As you might have guessed, the numbers determine the font size. Obviously 14 is a larger font size than 9. Change it to your liking then save and close the file. A simple restart of Terminator and you’ll see the results:

Terminator with size 14 font Inconsolata

Inconsolata is very neat especially if you write code. You’ll appreciate the crossed out zero of this easy to read font.

2 Responses to “Changing font size and font family of Terminator”

  1. Great tip!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

